Hey Lady, You’re Over the Line!

angrymob“What line? I don’t see a line.”  This was what I actually spoke out loud less than two weeks ago. I quickly scanned my environment,  naturally seeing nothing but mere spectators. I was after all,  in hot pursuit with my camera in hand, trying to catch a photo of my daughter as she took off from the starting line for the 100 meter race. It was the annual year end Small Christian Schools Track Meet, and I was working hard to capture her energy in motion.

“Excuse me, your standing over the line!”

There it was again. This time I looked more carefully, slightly annoyed that I was going to miss my photo opp. To my horror, I discovered those weren’t mere spectators, but annoyed parents – who happened to all be staring at me,  due to the fact that I was standing  r-i-g-h-t  -i-n- t-h-e- m-i-d-d-l-e  of the runway for the L-O-N-G   J-U-M-P   P-I-T!

Whoops…..

Needless to say, I missed my shot.

We did; however, win the meet!

VCHS Trackmeet 2009

2 Comments

Filed under Humor, P.E, Parenting

2 responses to “Hey Lady, You’re Over the Line!

  1. sandysays1

    Ahhhh. One of life’s embarrassing moments. Like walking into the wrong gender’s restroom or going out to fetch the newspaper with your hair in curlers and finding the new stud German Shepard is out for his morning stroll. Visit http://www.sandysays1.wordpress.com/ and read my latest post “I’m glad I don’r wear clothes.” for a few laughs.

  2. How often we do something that interrupts others in our blind pursuit of what we need.

    I’m glad it’s not just me [smile]. May we be mindful of others–looking out for their interests and not just our own–even when we need to get a great picture.

    ~Luke

Leave a Reply

