What’s Growing?

Wow, I can’t believe it’s been almost three weeks since I posted. What can I say? It’s summer after all! Even though we’re on summer holidays, I will try to continue to bore entertain you with a new post at least once a week.

I had mentioned in a previous post, that we were building a light hut. Remarkably, things have grown – who knew? Those of you who may not be familiar with my nurturing habits of fish and plant life, may not realize that I have a tendency to kill things. My thumb is not green, it is – er, black. Luckily I had charged the nurture and care of these young seedlings with my daughters. Who have unfailingly managed to help them grow – whew.

We still have yet to transplant the little things, but with any luck, I will charge the girls with that job too. We are after all, home learners – and that is what home learners do. Sometimes we show to learn, and sometimes we do to learn. There is no magic formula. The choice usually rides on the child’s learning style, curiosity, and enthusiasm. And in the summer, we have much more freedom to explore somewhat unstructured tasks. This is the time to learn to grow, learn to cook, learn to sew, or read a book. And yes, I know that rhymes – I never cease to amaze myself (sigh).

So without further ado – you may take a peak inside our little light hut:

1 Comment

Filed under Learning, Nature, Science, Summer

One response to “What’s Growing?

  1. Hi ๐Ÿ™‚ Just thought I’d pop over and say hello. Haven’t seen any action over hear for a while *grin*. Hope you guys had a great summer! Are you getting ready for the new school year? Or maybe you’ve already started. We just got our books so I’m sorting through them and I think we’ll start in a couple of days ๐Ÿ™‚
    Rosina

Leave a Reply

