Guardians of Ga’Hoole

A recent and far too long library strike caused me to search for some fresh reading material for my youngest literature deprived dd. During a routine trip to Costco, I came across a bundle of three books from a children’s series called Guardians of Ga’Hoole. Not being able to read the back of the books, due to how they were bundled, I took a chance and bought them anyway.

The cellophane of the package was quickly ripped away and the spine of the first book was quickly cracked. Ten days later, my nine year old had devoured all three books. I don’t know about you, but this is generally a good sign that I’ve struck gold concerning a good read. I’m actually not big most children’s series type books as I find the writing often weak and the vocabulary unchallenging. These books; however, have not let me down. The writing is sophisticated, the plot thick, the vocabulary rich and the character development delightful. Each book is approximately 200 pgs and well worth the $7.99. There is however, twelve books in the series, so you may want to only buy a few at a time.

Even though my daughter is now reading book five, she has asked that we read book one “The Capture” again for our read aloud time. If your children enjoy books about fantasy/adventure and have a bent for wildlife then give these books a try. Whether and independent read or family read aloud, I’m sure you won’t be disappointed. I know we weren’t.

1 Comment

Filed under Books, Reading

One response to “Guardians of Ga’Hoole

  1. Hi 🙂 Hope you aren’t getting any snow today *grin* We got a dose of it yesterday morning. It was a complete white out blizzard around here! Didn’t stay though thank goodness. Did you or are you at the Kelowna HS conference this weekend? I was wondering if you went if you would be interested in sharing about it as a guest blogger for the BC homeschool nations blog over at HSB? I really wanted to go but with the littles I just couldn’t leave, maybe in a couple of years 🙂 Have a wonderful weekend!
    Rosina

Leave a Reply

