What are you learning?

While I certainly enjoyed our Pioneer Christmas unit study, I am glad to be back at it! We started back up January 2, getting a bit of a head start in our third semester. Amongst it all, we’re renovating again so I’ve been a little distracted in the blogosphere. Soon I will post one of our own “Day in the Life of…” posts so you can see just how crazy things around here can get.

HOTM online magazineI have recently agreed to be a regular contributor to The Heart of The Matter online magazine. The official debut is tomorrow (January 8), so be sure to stop on by as this online magazine is full of words to encourage and inspire parents who homeschool, as well as words to provide practical helps.

And, as if that wasn’t enough, I recently took on the endeavor to create a web site for our homeschool society. I had never built a web site before, so this was quite a new learning curve, but I enjoyed it as much as blogging. So, being January, let me ask you this? What would you like to learn to do? Do you have any personal goals or aspirations? As home learners are oft lovers of learning, perhaps you’ll take a moment and share with us: What do you aspire to do for 2008?

3 Comments

Filed under Learning, Places To Visit, Writing

3 responses to “What are you learning?

  1. Hey you did a fantastic job on the website! I’m in the process of starting a new one for my mom’s B&B and I’m a little scared with all of the html stuff that I will have to fumble my way through *grin* Her current one I did on geocities and they provide you with the stick and paste format so you really didn’t have to think to hard. LOL. What server or website host did you use? You asked what I would like to learn this year…. I would love to learn to paint with water colors, become more organized and stick to my schedule (I frequently get off course), and lead my children in a closer walk with the Lord 🙂
    Yep, that’s a start…. so many other things but I don’t want to get myself to carried away *grin*
    Blessings to you and your family,
    Rosina

  2. homeschooljourney

    Hi Rosina,

    Good to hear from you! I hope you enjoyed your Christmas break. I used Joomla software to create the website. It is free php software. All the work is done in the backend, and you don’t have to know too much html stuff – more likely css stuff, which most of the banners & headers are written in.

    I had some help from my pastor, who created an extension (child site) on his site (all we had to do was download a template), then I added all the content and moved a few things around. When I was ready, my pastor ftp’d everything to the server (which was the same as his) and away we went. I’m using IslandNet – it’s pretty reasonable. I still have a lot to learn, but it sure helps to have someone you know who has done it before. 🙂

    Those are good things you listed to learn. I have tried water colors before, and I have decided I just don’t have the patience for them. I prefer acrylics. As for the other things you mentioned? I strive for those too. There was a great post I read here:

    http://heartofthematteronline.com/2008/01/edited_04.html

    Perhaps it will bless you as it blessed me.

    Take Care,
    Cheryl

  3. That was great that you had your pastor to help! All that css, ftp & php stuff scares me *grin* but I have a photo shop pro program that says I can create a webpage on my computer using one of its programs and then just load it onto the web. Could it really be that easy? I sure hope so 🙂 I’m going to check out the islandnet and joomla that you mentioned and see what they offer to.

    We had a great Christmas break! We took nearly a month off from our learning except for nature studies since we really enjoy doing that and just loafed around 🙂 We’ve jumped back in full speed ahead now and it’s getting easier each day. It was a little difficult to transition back into it after so much time off. I don’t usually do that. I like to school year round so that we don’t have those big breaks because I do find that it is hard to get started going again and instead just take a week or two off here and there throughout the year and with Dh home sporadically throughout the year we usually take a day or two off when he gets home to so we can spend time together. Our organization is coming along. I’ve started my oldest on an allowance and he has certain things that must be done on different days and then other jobs that come up like unloading the dishwasher or filling the woodboxes that are done on a need be basis. This is working out really well, and I think routine is really key for him to keep him on an even keel *grin*

    Enjoy the rest of your weekend!
    Rosina

Leave a Reply

