Daily Archives: January 2, 2008

Back in the Saddle

drumroll2Okay, so I’m not referring to a horse. I am referring to getting back in the swing of things. No, I’m not referring to baseball either.

(drum-roll please)

I’m referring to getting back to our homeschool schedule. What you say? I thought their was only one ‘s’word when it came to homeschool. Aside from the dreaded socialization word, their is the equally dreaded schedule word. The other ‘s’ word. Okay, some of you never use this alternate ‘s’ word, I know. I myself, have formed a kind of love/hate relationship with the said schedule.

I find that from time to time I need to re-visit the schedule, and more often than not, re-write the schedule. I used to be a slave to the schedule and never used one at all. That only worked for a little while until I realized that the schedule can be my friend and not my master. I use it a s a guide line – like a measuring stick. It helps keep me on track. So, being January and starting a new year (as well as a new semester), I revamped the thing again. I think it will work…this time. I hope.

scheuleI’ve also realized that the kids get some sort of satisfaction ticking off their lists. There is less complaining and thus, less grief inflicted upon me. So, in other words, these daily lists makes my life easier. There I said it. Scheduling works for me and my kids are smiling.

So, if you have any scheduling victories (or woes) consider sharing them here with my readers and perhaps we can encourage one another. Tell us what worked and what didn’t work, what you kept and what you threw away. I’d love to hear from you.

3 Comments

Filed under Encouragement, Home Economics, Life