Simplify Your Decorations!

Making PomandersSince we are marrying our study of the pioneers with how the early settlers celebrated their Christmas, we decided it would be fun to make our own pomanders the way the pioneers did. Using a Pioneer Christmas as one of our guides in our unit study, we made our citrus pomanders while listening to “On the Banks of Plum Creek” on CD.Making Pomanders1

You won’t see any artificial decorations in my house this year. I have left my department store tree in it’s box downstairs while we opt for a small live tree strung with our own hand made creations (more later). My stress meter is very low, considering that there are only 11 days left until Christmas. My home is in disarray due to some on going renovations and a shuffling of furniture from room to room. Studding ClovesBut as I take in a deep breath and smell the aroma of pomanders, fresh popcorn (for the tree), gingerbread cookies and soon to be fresh pine, none of that really matters. I seem to have left the Christmas tension somewhere next to the store bought tree, and as far as I’m concerned – it can stay there.

Finished PomandersAs the remaining days unfold until Christmas I will continue to share with you whether or not this has remained a constant. I am still a little doubtful that one can consistently displace the stress of the holidays (real or imagined), but I am hopeful that it is possible. In the meantime, if you have an opportunity to simplify any aspect of the Christmas Season, I’d encourage you do do so – for the pure simplicity of it (not to mention the wonderful smells).

Leave a comment

Filed under Art, Christmas, Encouragement, Holidays, Life

Leave a Reply

