Teachable Moments

A friend in our homeschool community had this wonderful little story to share. With her permission I’d like to share it with you too:

Young Barred OwlBeing a homeschooler means recognizing and taking advantage of those unplanned ‘Teachable Moments“.
 
Driving home today with a carload of groceries and children, I spotted a mother and two children crouched down beside the road. My head did a quick swivel as I drove past and I spotted  what looked like a striped wing. A fast pullover, and I jumped out to investigate.
 
As I trotted back to see what kind of bird had fallen, the mother looked up and to my surprise said, ” Hi, I know you. We are homeschoolers too”.
 
The young mother, had discovered a young Barred owl, which had  been killed, probably by a car.

What followed was a hands on roadside lesson. It covered: the special features of the feathers, the wingspan, talons, possible age of the victim, where it had been struck, and the size of the eye.
I’m sorry the owl died, but my guess is that the six children involved will remember the “lesson” 
 
Take time to stop and smell the roses…or view the roadkill.  Maybe it’s just me, but I find it humorous yet at the same time it makes so much sense that it was two homeschool families who were able to take advantage of the opportunity.
I love homeschooling!

2 Comments

Filed under Community, Learning, Nature, Science

2 responses to “Teachable Moments

  1. Only us crazy homeschoolers would stop to view and then study roadkill!

    We can make a unit study out of anything.

    I love it!

  2. Hey that mother was me. I’ve freeze the poor thing to kill any unwanted bugs. Wanna come and investigate further with us when I defrost it?

Leave a Reply

