What Are You Thankful For?

thanksgiving.jpgThis Thanksgiving weekend (yes, it’s Canada’s Thanksgiving) I had some time to ponder what I am truly grateful for. Sometimes in the busy day to day we can get utterly lost in the deep of the world. Things that matter spin by when we’re not paying close attention. It’s the seemingly small things like a quick hug from your child, or an invitation to cuddle at bedtime. Your husband stopping to fix your necklace or give you a quick embrace. The phone call from a friend that cares, someone stopping you at church to genuinely ask you how things are. They could be the ‘aha’ moments you have with your child when the light goes on, whether its about math or a deeper question about God. A simple ‘Thanks for praying for me mom, I didn’t have any bad dreams last night'”, that can stir gratitude in our hearts. Gratitude to whom? Who are we thanking for these small gifts? I don’t know about you, but I have my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ to thank deeply for many, many, many things. Too many to count really.

thankfull.jpg“Oh, come on Cheryl, really. It’s easy to thank God for the good things in life. But what about the bad times? The rough times? The sad times? Can you really thank your God for these?” My answer to this question is “Yes!” I am able to do this. For it’s in the bad times that I learn perseverance. It’s in the sad times that I am comforted. It’s in the tough times that my faith is strengthened. It is in these darkest moments that I develop a deeper gratitude for all He has done for me. For His unfailing love for me. It is these very times that allow me to grow as a human being.

So this Thanksgiving, I ask you this. “What are you thankful for?” “Are you thankful to anyone greater than yourself?” “Can you be grateful in utterly tough times?” Not without shedding tears, no doubt. But when the tears are gone, can you hold your head up high and stand on solid ground? What do you put your faith in?

May you be blessed this Thanksgiving…..abundantly.

2 Comments

Filed under Life, Ramblings, Thanksgiving

2 responses to “What Are You Thankful For?

  1. Hey Cheryl – Great thought. Glad you’re back in cyberspace while I was out in the boonies. It was the first thanksgiving that I spent out there without a Turkey dinner (my favourite) since I came to Canada! Nevertheless, I’m thankful for the time I got to spend out there for two whole weeks with my family, and the mandatory “out of touch” where you couldn’t get on the internet.

    I appreciated your question and your comment in being thankful at all times. Whenever I find my emotions overtaking me, I turn to the Psalms where David (or other people) dump on God, so to say, and then fall back on who He is and their declaration of trust in Him; I’m comforted by their frankness and their (and of course God’s) generosity in their honesty by pioneering the path for us to be able to find release. When life throws us a curve ball, I turn to this treasure box of a book and find equilibrium. I’m grateful to God for knowing us so well and giving us that little oomph of a help like this.

  2. Pingback: Gratefulness - Where Does Yours Lie? « A Day In The Life Of Our Homeschool Journey

Leave a Reply

