All Things Dad

Happy Father’s Day Dad!

This post may be late, but the message is not. I saw my Dad yesterday and took him out for lunch. It was good to see him. My Dad is a hard worker and would give you the shirt off his back if you needed it. He was the man to teach me about caring for those less fortunate. My family never went to church, but Dad taught me to give to those less fortunate than myself.  We used to go for walks in the city when he lived there. Often we would pass a homeless person who was begging. My Dad always reached into his pocket to offer up whatever he had. He never judged them or tried to figure out the motive of the beggar, he just gave.

Later, as an adult I came across a passage in my bible that said to “Give to the one who asks you, and do not turn away from the one who wants to borrow from you.” Mathew 5:42.  We are not told to anticipate what the beggar may do with what we give him. We are told to simply give. Give within our means? Give within reason? Sure, you decide. The way I see, it is it’s not really my money anyway. According to the bible, all things belong to God.

dad-nandi.jpgI share this with you not to preach, but to simply share something personal I discovered while pondering the values passed on to me by my Dad. This simple gesture of his I observed as a child has imparted meaning to me that I hope to pass on to my children. I will often empty my pockets (or lunch bag) in front of them in order to “give to those who ask”. I don’t ask them to do the same, I only hope they are watching.

So, thanks Dad. I love you.

Leave a comment

Filed under Ramblings

Leave a Reply

