Books, Books, and More Books!

So many good books, too little time.

As the weather starts to warm up, we spend less time indoors doing schoolwork. We have pretty much finished up our studies for this year, so as we wind down, our indoor activities start to turn into outdoor activities. Over the summer though, there is one activity that never stops. That would be reading.

Reading is something I’ve never had to teach. Though I did teach my youngest dd to read, I’ve never had to tell them to read. It’s just something they do. ReadingBooks end up everywhere in my home. They can be found in the living room, kitchen, bedrooms, and yes, even the bathroom. I have at least one dd who is a “bathroom” reader. Bookshelves abound in my home, as they do in most home-school families. I recently acquired a much larger one for the girls room. I get some sort of weird satisfaction out of moving books around and organizing them.

I allow for lots of time to read during our days. I circulate books around the house. Sometimes a book in the living room that has collected dust would be picked up if moved to the bedrooms. Kind of like when we used to recirculate toys for toddlers. Same principle, better result.

I’ve also noticed a variety in the girls personal preferences for books. OwlsInTheFamilyPresently, my youngest dd (8 yo) is most interested in books about animals and an even greater enjoyment if they happen to be true stories such as Owls in the Family by Farley Mowat. TheLionTheWitchAndTheWardrobeMy oldest dd (10 yo) tends to re-read her favorites like The Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe, by C.S Lewis, again and again. 

A considerable amount of books are brought home from the library. Usually these would consist of a variety of literature related to our study in history and science, but I recently picked up a neat idea from one of Susan Wise Bauers’s workshops when she was in town during last years BC Home School Convention. It was something her mother used to do when she was home schooled. It’s a concept that helps the kids familiarize themselves with the library and it’s catalogue. During the library visit each child is given their own basket and asked to pick out five books of their choice. However, they must pick one from each category: History, Science, Literature, Poetry and a book about numbers (math related). I have adopted this little task and the kids seem to really enjoy it. I also found they were reading more poetry, which is something I’m not very consistent with.

As the lazy days of summer approach, it’s a good time to break out the children’s reading resources. Fantastic resource lists can be found in both Honey for a Child’s Heart, and How to Grow a Young Reader (see my side bar). Take some time to peruse these lists and add some fresh blood to those bookshelves. There is much more to be said on the topic of reading. Too much to write about here. I will share more in future posts.

I will leave you with this question. This summer, what will you be reading?

3 Comments

Filed under Books, Reading

3 responses to “Books, Books, and More Books!

  1. This is a great post. I will have to find those books you mention for their good resource lists.

    I understand your “weird satisfaction” about moving and organizing books. I love to do that too. Yesterday I just sorted our books by reading level so my 4 year-old son, who is beginning to read, could easily find some simple ones. They certainly do end up all over the house, and the car too!

    I like your five book idea. I think I will try that, it sounds fun!

    I have always been very interested in homeschooling, although I am not sure if I could do it (that is why it is interesting to read about other’s experiences with it). For now my children are doing well in their small Montessori school, but once they outgrow that…who knows?

    A lot of your thoughts and ideas are very useful for non-homeschooling families too. Without TV, we are always looking for fun and educational new things to do.

    Thank you for linking to my blog (www.unplugyourkids.com). I am glad you enjoyed it and I hope you come back. I will also give you a link, since I have enjoyed your blog so far and will come again! I think many of my readers would enjoy it here too.

  2. Deedee

    My love of reading is something that my mom really nurtured when I was young, and it is something I want to pass on to Emma. This is a great post, with some great tips to help me do just that. Thanks!

  3. Pingback: What I wish I’d known my first year of homeschooling. « A Day in the Life of Our Homeschool Journey

Leave a Reply

